Autistic, Dating, & Still Have No Idea What You’re Doing?

Kitty J
5 min readOct 17, 2023

Yeah… me neither.

Photo by Alex Vámos on Unsplash

You’re not alone in feeling like this.

I’m 38, twice divorced, and wondering if I’ll ever meet someone who never makes me feel like I can’t do anything right.

But then I wonder, do they ever really do anything to make me feel that way or am I feeling that way all on my own?

If so, what the hell can I do that I haven’t already tried?

And if not, how the hell do I stop those emotions from taking hold and ruining every single relationship I enter into?

I meet every romantic interest through dating apps. It’s the only way — I wouldn’t date someone from work for many reasons and I don’t have any outside hobbies where I’d meet someone. Even if that were the case, I am not confident enough to strike up a conversation with anyone, let alone inquire into their relationship status.

So dating apps are it… and over the years, I feel like they’ve gotten worse, not better, especially for me.

Objectively, I am attractive. I know this because people tell me so; the fact I don’t agree is something I keep to myself but I guess we don’t see ourselves the way others do.

--

--

Kitty J

Autistic. Parent. Writer. Accountant. Abuse Survivor. Dealing w/cPTSD, hEDS & POTS. Always learning & questioning. A quiet human slowly reparenting herself.